To Vine or not?

It’s confession time… I have never seen a Vine. *gasp*

This may come as a shock since today’s youth are known for grasping and absorbing every technology trend that develops. And though I am pretty updated on most social media sites, for some reason I can’t bring myself to watch Vines that are posted on the internet, much less make an account.

From what I know, a Vine is a way to share videos; so what makes it different from YouTube?

Twitter, which owns the mobile service, launched Vine this past January. Michael Sippey, the vice president of product for Twitter, stated that Vine “lets you capture and share short looping videos. Like Tweets, the brevity of videos on Vine (6 seconds or less) inspires creativity.”

Okay, so the app isn’t completely alien. Capturing videos and sharing content online are two concepts that have been around for quite a while now.

But there’s just something about the hype surrounding yet another social media outlet which only further frustrates me because I think, “Oh not another one…”There are ways to share feelings, statuses, pictures, even your exact location, and now there’s an additional site solely for video-sharing.

I guess I’m experiencing the internal struggle many are going through: how much sharing is too much? The people I follow on Twitter post links to Vines, obviously wanting to share their creations with the world, but I don’t think they realize that anyone can see them.

“Unfortunately as soon as you post the clip to Vine, you’ve lost any control over who views it or interacts with it,” reported Rosa Golijan for NBC News, “There’s no way to create a private Vine account nor can you choose who may follow you or view your profile on the video-sharing service.”

For me, the sharing of Vines online leaves ambiguity about the intended audience. Does simply posting it on Twitter really mean you want every follower out there to watch your Vine?

I think the bigger picture here is that people should be more aware of the visibility their posts and clearer about the audience they wish to bring in, especially when it concerns video content.

As much as the privacy issue concerns me, the unique editing features and creative aspects of Vine are tempting me… Is Vine the way to go? Or is this just another fad that I can skip?

Leave a Reply

