Daily Divas

Students ‘put a ring on it’, find confidence in Beyonce attitude

Look in a mirror. While most people see their ordinary reflections, some view themselves in a more glamorous light: as real-life divas.

Juniors Keefer Kaneshiro and Brianna Kelly don’t just admire popular divas like Beyoncé, they claim to be Beyoncé.
According to Kaneshiro, his Beyoncé obsession goes beyond norms because he follows in the footsteps of his favorite diva by creating an alter-ego – “Keefoncé.”

“I feel like it should be a goal for every day, to do something that Beyoncé would do,” Kaneshiro said.

According to Kaneshiro, his diva antics started after he watched Beyoncé’s “Single Ladies” performance at the Video Music Awards in 2009. For Kelly, her life-changing diva transformation occurred more recently, during sophomore year.

“People have always told me I [kind of] looked like Beyoncé, but [it] never really meant anything to me until she just started performing one day and I [thought], ‘Oh my gosh, she’s perfect,’” Kelly said. “I always made the joke about it, how I was Beyoncé and…it just [kind of] escalated from there [and] turned [into] to me actually thinking I’m Beyoncé.”

Although divas are becoming alter-egos and role-models for people like Kaneshiro and Kelly, the trend is also catching on in a looser sense. Sophomore Baylee Scott is a Beyoncé fan and even calls herself “Bayoncé,” but she doesn’t take the role as seriously.

“I pretty much just did it because it fits with my name…” Scott said. “I just thought it was funny. I don’t really consider myself a diva, but I just like how it sounds.”

Though for Kaneshiro and Kelly, being Beyoncé has made a deeper impact on their lives.

“More people address me as Beyoncé than they actually do my own name,” Kelly said. “It’s the kind of person I am — because I act like your typical diva.”

However, the reality of the situation is apparent for Kelly because she said she views “being Beyoncé” lightheartedly.

“I know I’m never going to be [Beyoncé],” Kelly said. “But it [has] definitely helped me become a nicer person all-around. I think I’m much more of a respectable person now…I feel like I’ve become a lot more vocal with people.”

Although negative diva characteristics include speaking with ‘no-filter’ and being too headstrong, Kaneshiro said the feeling of confidence overpowers those traits.

“I’ve always been sort of self-conscious…so it’s good to put up this wall of diva,” Kaneshiro said. “Convince yourself that you are a strong person, and then you will be.”

According to Kaneshiro, divas are not as mean and exclusive as they seem.

“We’re all Beyoncé. We all have an inner Beyoncé,” Kaneshiro said. “It’s more of a way of thinking. Anyone can be fabulous if they choose to be so.”

According to English teacher Lori Roth, she wears her diva proudly because of the larger responsibility that comes with it.

“[Being called a diva means]: you have self-confidence, you’re totally okay with who you are, and that ‘who you are’ is for the good of oth- ers,” Roth said. “You can be a diva and still serve others.”

Roth said she uses her inner-diva to influence progressive change at MHS; for example, by pushing for students to have more choice in the books they read.

“[It’s] just being confident in that I know this is the right choice for the kids,” Roth said.

Although Kaneshiro said the actual term “Keefoncé” is a joke, like Roth, he also hopes to have a larger impact on MHS by being a diva.

“[I hope it will] have people just be themselves — be Beyoncé” Kaneshiro said. “It’s good to speak your mind [and] be open — in a positive way…A fabulous diva is somebody who shares their opinions [and is] very very nice – a role model.”

*This story was featured in The Chronicle’s second edition for this year.

Leave a Reply

